Not your childhood easel…

photo-1

But then again, he’s not really your ‘normal’ child.

After a slight hiatus due to various non-London-y adventures (Marrakesh, Toronto, Las Vegas) – all of which I will chronicle in due time – I am back after the most overwhelmingly British-pride-ish week since last year’s Olympics. Yes, I’m talking about the royal bundle of joy. On a spectrum of EEEE CUTIE to WHAT BABY, LEAVE ME ALONE, I think the photo above gives away my inclinatio. Anyone who waited in the line snaking around Buckingham Palace to see a glorified artist’s helper has to have some sort of soft spot in their heart for both the royal family and newly birthed cherubs.

As the calendar flipped to July, it was definitely entertaining to witness the world’s frenzied media climb over themselves for prime stakeout spots in front of St Mary’s hospital. When the news of the arrival of the future king finally broke, I couldn’t help but draw a parallel from London2012. In the lead up, the whining was overwhelming…the city would be too busy, the whole thing was too expensive, who cares about dressage anyway? Cue the Opening Ceremony, and every Brit I talked to was filled with a sense of quiet pride and palpable excitement  (‘oh hey, how awesome is that horse dancing to the Lion King soundtrack!?’) Similarly, this week, I found a lot of people couldn’t help but grin and get into the spirit. Of course, the ‘why is this news?’ tweets and grumble-grumble I-don’t-care articles were present in abundance, but to be honest not all news has to be bad news. On any given day, British media is full of reports on war in Syria, poverty amongst the UK’s own children, struggles in the National Health Service, destruction by natural disaster in the United States…a couple days’ focus on a story to make you smile, IMHO, isn’t the worst thing to happen to your television.

Anyway, whatever one’s opinion, this really is a historical event, and as a Canadian in London I feel lucky to be able to soak up the atmosphere in person. When I’m old and gray and this as-yet unnamed future King takes the throne, I’ll remember how I popped by the palace one day after work in a heatwave (also a historical event!!) and caught a glimpse of the most snazzy easel of all time. Judging by the languages I heard in line, the easel had much international appeal…I’d be interested to hear how everyone else viewed the whole thing, both from here in London and afar? Repulsed by the sappiness or thought it was adorable and pulled out your bunting?

Easel fans

Easel fans

4 thoughts on “Not your childhood easel…

  1. FictionFan

    I’m not a baby person and I’m fairly ambivalent about royalty – but so what? It was lovely to concentrate on something happy for a few days as you say. And I loved the way the baby waved at the photographers – it must be part of his genetic inheritance! 😉

    Reply
  2. Juliann

    I’m so envious! I would have loved to have been there. I was caught up in the excitement as much as I could be, here in the States, watching it on TV. Being there would have been incredible. Lucky you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

