Weekly Photo Challenge: Change

Sorry little guy...

Sorry little guy…

This is my first Weekly Photo Challenge post – the theme for this week is ‘change’. I decided to go with the seasonal aspect of the challenge, because I am THAT excited about this finally being the weekend the parka heads out of my life and into the dry cleaners’ capable hands!

I came across this tenacious snowman on a recent trip to Moscow, outside the GUM shopping mall next to Red Square. I don’t think he’s long for this world, and I’m hoping the sun’s going to win this fight (though I’m sure he’ll be back with a vengeance next year).

‘Change’ can also aptly describe the city of Moscow itself, from the reign of the Romanovs to the terrors of Stalin to Putin’s vise-grip hold on power…but that’s a whole other story for a different photo challenge!

Here’s to spring finally springing x

25 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Change

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: CHANGE | The Adventures of Iñigo Boy

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change | Life's So Sweet

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change | Flickr Comments

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change (Cahors – Going down the Aisle) | What's (in) the picture?

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change (Cahors – Walking down the Aisle) | What's (in) the picture?

      1. sustainabilitea

        Thanks, Catherine. Nice of you to stop by. I just started doing these weekly challenges and it’s a great way to meet people and see lots of wonderful photos.

        Our younger daughter and I were in Britain some years ago and took a Big Bus tour on the day we arrived. Included was a boat ride on the Thames. Loved that view of the city. One thing that surprised me was that there seemed to be more Starbucks than tea shops. I like Starbucks, but I was taken aback at the lack of English tea shops. I was amazed, though, at how inexpensive PG Tips are there. 🙂

        janet

      2. CatherineTs Post author

        Absolutely – it’s amazing to see how many beautiful and different interpretations there are out there of one simple word!
        My favorite view of London is off a bridge near Westminster looking down the Thames 🙂 And you’re so right about the Starbucks – you have to actively seek out the tea shops, but that can be a good thing bc it means they’re not too overcrowded!

      3. sustainabilitea

        Are you a tea drinker? I love tea, have about 40 kinds and drink it virtually every day. The first time I was in England, in the mid-70’s, I’d never drunk tea but since it was the high test, sit-on-the-stove-all-day type of tea, I had to drink it with lots of milk to start with. 🙂 Now I never take milk in it.

      4. CatherineTs Post author

        I am! I’m envious of your stash – in traditional London style, my kitchen isn’t very big, so I’ve been designated one single tea drawer (I’ve managed to fit about 10 in there so far :P) I never take milk either – which my colleagues at work can’t understand!

      5. sustainabilitea

        Perhaps one day we’ll be able to share a cuppa! That would be fun. Do you have any flowering teas? They’re so much fun and so beautiful. I bought a glass teapot just so I could make them.

      6. CatherineTs Post author

        Definitely 🙂 I don’t have any actual flower blossoms – must get on that – but I do have a milky oolong that takes on a life of its own!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change (Malta – Just Married) | What's (in) the picture?

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change (Avebury – Sense making in Fashion?) | What's (in) the picture?

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change | The (Urban-Wildlife) Interface

  9. Marie

    That’s really sweet how you’re so concerned with the poor little melting snowman… 😉 I can almost hear him moaning “I’m melting! I’m melting!” aw, poor little dude.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

